Ummm…

Hey, I didn't know Dana Carvey did a Hillary Clinton impression...

Hey, wait a minute! I didn't know Dana Carvey did a Hillary Clinton impression...

CNN is currently illustrating their front page top headline about Hillary Clinton’s possible- looking- more- likely- all- the- time- just- go- ahead- and- announce- it- already- why- don’t- you appointment as Obama’s Secretary of State with this picture. Seriously, people, in the past 6 months there have probably been literally millions of pictures taken of this woman–are you honestly going to tell me this was the best one you could find? Looks like someone on the night desk is getting payoff checks from Bill O’Reilly…

Note: I’m changing the title of this post–the words “Do Not Want!” above Hillary Clinton’s picture gave an impression I wasn’t going for!

About Katie Heimer

I'm a graduate student of media studies at the New School. My main academic interests in the field center around issues of women in the media (both in terms of representations of and access to) and the overlapping issues of media reform and education. This website will serve as a chronicle of my progress and growth, both intellectually and personally, as I navigate my master's of media studies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ummm…

  1. Jenn says:

    I remember when the CNN website was actually a reliable source for latebreaking news. Now it seems to revolve around fluff pieces and editorials. What the hell is this photo?! A smug wink to the right wing? A sly nod to misogynistic men? How can this website possibly feel it in its best interest to insult 18 million fervent Hillary supporters?

  2. Katie Heimer says:

    I know, seriously! I’ve seen similar kinds of overtly ridiculous pictures as the front page headlining picture several times before…usually they come down within half an hour, which gives me the distinct impression that a bunch of people are sitting around being like “look at this! I dare you to put it up!”. Whatever the case, it certainly does not exactly exemplify the standards of journalistic excellence that in inspire me with very much confidence in the information that accompanies the photos (important breaking news headlines like “Wanna Buy a Rolls or Bentley–Cheap?”, “XBox Taken By Cop” or my all-time favorite–“Bono Pumps Fist For End of Malaria”).

Leave a Reply

